Saying goodbye is hard to do

At Paint Lick we say goodbye to a landmark.

Katie will remember the good days at Uncle Tom's

 (see original story of September 2009 fire-Richmond Register)

by Katie Rollins

 It’s been a busy week here in Paint Lick with the remains of
the old restaurant being shoveled down and removed from the corner of this little village. I look at that old place and I see a landmark, the physical part now gone but with lots of happenings in days past that I’ll always treasure.  The people who passed through Paint Lick “on their way to who knows where” and the many farmers, their families and friends and just about anybody who came down the road would stop in and ask,  “just what is this place”?  Most of them… strangers, who, I am sure, would have a story to tell upon their return to wherever and when they came. 

As  I was going to work this morning, I dropped a letter in to Clyde at the post office. He was smiling and my!  how good that made me feel!  Then Don Weber from Handcraft Woodworks in the old Calico and Brown Building came through the door of the post office and he too was smiling. Both Clyde and Don are working hard to make their places liveable again by keeping a positive outlook.  Then as I  was leaving,  I stopped in to tell the girls how good it looked to see lights on at The First Southern National Bank.  And it did look brighter.  Just as the sun comes up every day,  the people of Paint Lick will also take on a new day, one day at a time.  Thanks to all of you for making my Monday morning go a whole lot better.   

The  Potluck for the big Paint Lick family and friends reunion will be held this Saturday evening.  Hopefully, many of you will come and share supper as we gather  among friends.  Everyone is welcome at the Paint Lick Firehouse between the hours of  6-8 pm.    I will do all I possibly can to help with  this event and  I will look forward to  some really good food.  

 The Friends of Paint Lick “start of summer” yard sale will be held on Saturday, June 12, starting at 8:30 am. or earlier.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Saying goodbye is hard to do”

  1. Nancy Henderson Criss Says:

    PAINT LICK WILL SURVIVE! Press On – Regardless!

    • e4unity Says:

      Our Lord takes notice of the ‘little things’, the things despised by our society:

      ”Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying, 9 “The hands of Zerubbabel have laid the foundation of this house; his hands shall also complete it. Then you will know that the Lord of hosts has sent me to you. 10 For whoever has despised the day of small things shall rejoice, and shall see the plumb line in the hand of Zerubbabel.” (Zechariah 4)

Leave a Reply

